Home > Uncategorized > Fun with guard makeup

Fun with guard makeup

So last I decided that I’d put off the question of this year’s guard makeup long enough. I had ideas, but hadn’t fully looked in to them. I was looking for something that would add a little pizazz to the uniform I fell in love with. Since we have a celestial theme, I knew I wanted to use blue, gold, and silver. I also knew I wanted to use rhinestones and glitter for some extra sparkle. I also needed to be able to get 13 ladies made up in under 30 minutes.

Knowing what I had in mind, I headed to Ulta. I’m not a makeup person at all, so I thought I’d be able to get some help there instead of guessing my way through a drug store. Ulta is pricey, but boy do they know their stuff!

I wanted to use an eyeliner pencil because I figured it would be easier to handle for a somewhat elaborate design. The salesperson showed me the way to Urban Decay, and I was (as always) in love. The colors were perfect; ended up buying a pencil in Dime, Electric, and Honey. Also picked up a glitter eyeliner in Distortion.

When the salesperson found out what I planned to do with the makeup, he told me about primer. For your face? Yes. It’s apparently a great way to keep your face from oiling up and making your makeup from looking dirty. Ended up getting some “that gal” by benefit.

Also knowing that I needed the makeup to potentially last for several hours, the salesperson suggested makeup sealer. He said I could use hairspray, but it’d make the guard break out- that’s the last thing I want to do to teenage ladies! Got some She-Lac by benefit.

As for rhinestones, I messed with loose stones a couple seasons ago, and they took forever to put on and dry. I was determined to get some with adhesive on the back. I found ’em online at designed2bsweet.com. They just arrived in the mail.

Since I went shopping with my sister, Sammie, I thought it was only fitting that we try the makeup on ourselves…

I think #2 is the winner – my sister is quite the creative one!

On an ending note: It’s important to me that the guard feels lime they are in costume. Not only does a great uniform and makeup job help them feel pretty and confident, it also helps them get more into the characters I want them to play.

I will keep you posted in how the makeup goes, but in the meantime, what makeup products do you use in your guard?

Oh, and next step: Hair. Ugh.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags:

Leave a comment